Ohio Mr. Football Finalists Announced by OPSWA | News, Sports, Jobs

COLUMBUS – The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association has announced the finalists for the 2022 Ohio Mr. Football Awards. The winner will be announced December 1 in Canton prior to the start of the OHSAA State Soccer Championships.

The OPSWA District Chairmen and Officers have selected seven outstanding student athletes as finalists for the 2022 Ohio Mr. Football Award. The voting process is nearly identical to that used to determine the winner of the Heisman Trophy in college football.

Voting for the 218 registered OPSWA members is ongoing and will close at noon on Monday.

Ohio’s Mr. Football was selected by the Associated Press from 1987 to 2016. Since 2017 it has been presented by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

The OPSWA All-Ohio teams will be released on December 5th.

2022 Ohio Mr. Football nominees

(Finalists listed in alphabetical order.)

Darreon Fair, Cleveland Heights, 5-11, 175, Sr., QB

The Northeast Lakes District Division I Offensive Player of the Year totaled 40 TDs and led the Tigers to a 9-1 record. He rushed for 1,318 yards and 29 TDs on 116 attempts and threw for 644 yards and 11 TDs on 41 of 75 passes.

CJ Hester, Wyoming, 5-11, 190, SR, RB/DB

The three-time Southwest District Division IV Offensive Player of the Year carried the ball 228 times for 2,081 yards (9.1 yards per carry) and 33 TDs during the regular season as the Cowboys went undefeated and ranked #2 in the most recent AP poll. He currently has 2,967 yards and 46 TDs on 331 carries for a top-seeded D-IV state semifinalist. School records he set that year included most rushing yards in a game (351), most rushing TDs in a game (7), and most points scored in a game (42). The Western Michigan recruit has rushed for 6,951 yards in his career and has 110 total TDs.

Diore Hubbard, Gahanna Lincoln, 5-11, 185, Jr., RB.

In 14 games, the Central District Division I Offensive Player of the Year has rushed for 2,306 yards on 309 carries (7.5 average), has conceded 287 yards on 22 receptions, and has 29 total TDs for a top-seeded Division I state semifinalist.

Jordan Marshall, Moller, 5-11 200, jr., RB

Carried the ball 161 times for 1,290 yards (7.9 yards per carry) and 20 TDs and caught 16 passes for 278 yards and four TDs in the regular season. He currently has 1,796 yards and 27 TDs on 217 carries for a top-seeded Division I semifinalist. Named GCL South Player of the Year and Southwest District Division I Offensive Player of the Year. Four-star recruit and one of the top 10 prospects in the country according to 247sports.com.

Lamar Sperling, Akron Archbishop Hoban, 5-10, 190, Sr., RB

The Northeast Inland District Division II Offensive Player of the Year has logged 339 carries, 3,348 rushing yards and 51 rushing touchdowns in 14 games. The Buffalo recruit rushed for 2,934 yards and 41 TDs in 16 games last year.

Connor Walendzak, Perrysburg, 5-11, 195, Sr., RB

Toledo’s recruit and Northwest District Division I Offensive Player of the Year rushed 166 times for 1,320 yards and 18 touchdowns in the regular season. Also finished with 102 tackles (14.5 for losses), 3.5 sacks, one interception and three forced fumbles. Was named Northern Lakes League Player of the Year and First Team Running Back and Linebacker. Selected All-Ohio first team running back 2020 and 2021 second team.

Mason Wolfe, Millersburg West Holmes, 6-3, 190, Sr., QB

The East District Division IV Offensive Player of the Year completed 137 of 195 passes (70.3% completion) for 2,511 yards, 34 TDs and just 2 INTs. Added three more Rushing TDs for the Knights, who finished the regular season 10-0 and ranked No. 3 in the Division IV state poll. Lined up an offense averaging 51 ppg.

Ohio Mr. Football Winners (including college pick):

1987: Buster Howe, RB-DB-KP, Zanesville, Ohio

1988: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio

1989: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio

1990: Bobby Hoying, QB, St. Henry, Ohio

1991: Derek Kidwell, QB-DE, Fostoria, Bowling Green

1992: Marc Edwards, RB-LB, Norwood, Notre Dame

1993: Curtis Enis, RB-LB, Mississinawa Valley, Penn State

1994: Charles Woodson, DB-RB, Fremont Ross, Michigan

1995: Andy Katzenmoyer, LB, Westerville South, Ohio

1996: Derek Combs, RB-DB-KR, Grove City, Ohio

1997: Tony Fisher, RB, Euclid, Notre-Dame

1998: Ryan Brewer, RB, Troy, South Carolina

1999: Bam Childress, DB-WR-KR, Bedford St. Peter Chanel, Ohio State

2000: Jeff Backes, RB-DB, Upper Arlington, Northwest

2001: Maurice Clarett, RB, Warren G. Harding, Ohio State

2002: Ben Mauk, QB, Kenton, Wake Forest/Cincinnati

2003: Ray Williams, RB, Cleveland Benedictine, West Virginia

2004: Tyrell Sutton, RB, Archbishop Hoban, Northwestern

2005: Delone Carter, RB, Copley, Syracuse

2006: Brandon Saine, RB, Piqua, Ohio

2007: Bart Tanski, QB, Mentor, Bowling Green

2008: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron

2009: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron

2010: Akise Teague, RB-DB-KR, Youngstown Ursuline, Cincinnati

2011: Maty Mauk, QB, Kenton, Missouri/Eastern Kentucky

2012: Mitch Trubisky, QB, mentor, North Carolina

2013: Dante Booker Jr., LB, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, Ohio State

2014: Joe Burrow, QB, Athens, Ohio State, Louisiana State

2015: Keishaun Sims, RB-DB, Massillon Perry, Ashland University

2016: Michael Warren, RB, Toledo Central Catholic, University of Cincinnati

2017: Joey Baughman, QB, Wadsworth, Elon University

2018: Cade Stover, SS-RB, Lexington, Ohio State University

2019: Evan Prater, QB, Cincinnati, Wyoming, University of Cincinnati

2020: Corey Kiner, RB, Cincinnati Roger Bacon, State of Louisiana

2021: Drew Allar, QB, Medina, Penn State

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox